Formation services for Tennessee businesses
Should I use a formation service for my Tennessee business filing?
What a formation service can and cannot do here
A formation service prepares the Articles of Organization and files them with the Secretary of State. It does not obtain the county license, and it does not touch the business tax registration, the trade licenses, or the health permits.
The stack is the reason to be precise about what you are buying. In Memphis the county and city licenses cost $30 together, the LLC filing costs $300 minimum, and the trade layer, where it exists, carries its own board fees. A service's work covers exactly one of those layers.
So the comparison below is narrow. It is about the entity filing, each service's own published price, and what renews after the first year. The license layers are covered in how to get a Tennessee business license, and the reason the two halves are separate is on does an LLC need a business license.
$300 minimumThe Articles of Organization form SS-4270 states a filing fee of $50 per member, with a minimum fee of $300 and a maximum fee of $3,000. — Tennessee Secretary of State, form SS-4270, retrieved 2026-09-29
First-year published prices beside the state fee
Every figure below is what the service publishes about itself on its own pricing page, checked on the date shown. The state fee is added where the service's plan passes it through.
The state fee is not small in Tennessee. At $300 minimum for the Articles of Organization, the filing costs more than most services' base plans, so the "plus state fees" line is where the money actually is.
Check each price again before buying. Plans change, and the binding price is the one shown at checkout on the service's own site.
| Service | Base plan | Registered agent | First-year cost at base | What renews |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tailor Brands | $0 Lite plus state fees | Not stated on the plan page | $300 state fee | Paid tiers bill yearly |
| Bizee | $0 Basic plus state fee | First year free | $300 state fee | Agent service after year one |
| BetterLegal | $299 plus state fee | Sold as an add-on | $599 | Add-ons only |
| ZenBusiness | $0 plus state fees | $199 per year | $300 state fee | Agent and compliance add-ons |
| LegalZoom | $0 plus state fees | Sold separately | $300 state fee | Agent service and plan add-ons |
| File it yourself | State fee only | Your own address | $300 | $300 annual report minimum |
$0 + state feesTailor Brands publishes a $0 Lite LLC plan plus state fees, with Essential at $199 per year and Elite at $249 per year. — Tailor Brands plans and pricing page, retrieved 2026-09-29
$0 + state feeBizee publishes a $0 Basic plan plus the state fee, Standard at $199 and Premium at $299, with one free year of registered agent service on every package. — Bizee pricing page, retrieved 2026-09-29
$199 per yearZenBusiness publishes LLC formation starting at $0 plus state fees, with registered agent service at $199 per year and Worry-Free Compliance filings at $199 per year. — ZenBusiness pricing page, retrieved 2026-09-29
Services matched to what a Tennessee owner needs
These entries are use cases, not a ranking. Each service sits where its own published offer fits a need, and the order below is presentation order only.
Every price is what the service published about itself on the date checked. Nothing here is a rating, and none of these services obtains the county license or the business tax registration, whichever one you pick.
- Tailor Brands
Suits a first-time Tennessee owner who wants the filing and the upkeep in one account. The $0 Lite plan covers the Articles of Organization, an operating agreement, and the annual compliance feature, with brand tools on the same account. Paid tiers add expedited processing and legal compliance work. The plan page does not state a registered agent price, so price that piece separately if you want it.
- Bizee
One free year of registered agent service rides along with every package here, including the $0 Basic plan plus the state fee, which matters when the state fee itself is $300. That year can keep a home address off the formation record. The agent service is what renews after the free year, and the Standard and Premium tiers sit above the base plan.
- BetterLegal
No tiers to compare: $299 plus the state fee covers the formation filing, an EIN, an operating agreement, and banking documents, with a stated two-business-day turnaround. Getting the EIN inside the package saves a separate trip to the IRS. Registered agent service is sold as an add-on, not part of the $299.
- ZenBusiness
When the deadline is the worry, this one sells the tracking. Formation starts at $0 plus state fees, and Worry-Free Compliance at $199 per year monitors filings such as the Tennessee annual report. Registered agent service is a separate $199 per year, so the total climbs once both are added.
- LegalZoom
The draw here is a lawyer on the phone. The $0 Basic plan files the LLC, and the $249 Pro plan adds an operating agreement, an EIN, and 30 days of unlimited 30-minute attorney consultations. A commercial lease or a vendor contract for a new trade business is the kind of document worth that call. Registered agent service is sold separately.
$299 + state feeBetterLegal publishes a $299 plus state fee formation package including an EIN, an operating agreement, and basic company documents, with registered agent as an add-on. — BetterLegal home page, retrieved 2026-09-29
$249 + state feesLegalZoom publishes a $0 Basic LLC plan plus state filing fees and a $249 Pro plan that adds an operating agreement, an EIN, and 30 days of unlimited 30-minute attorney consultations. — LegalZoom LLC pricing page, retrieved 2026-09-29
File it yourself with the Tennessee Secretary of State
You can skip every service and file directly with the Tennessee Secretary of State through the TNCaB portal. The fee is the same $300 minimum either way, because the state charges the filing fee, not the preparer.
The form is SS-4270, and its own fee line states the arithmetic: $50 per member, minimum $300, maximum $3,000. No attorney is required to file it. This route is the benchmark for every figure above, because it is the same filing at the same fee with nobody in between.
What a service adds is the typing, an address service, reminders, or extra documents. What it never adds is the rest of the stack: the county license from the local county or city tax agent, the state credential in the licensed trades, and the health permit in food service. Those stay yours whichever route files the paperwork.
SS-4270The Secretary of State's businesses portal handles new business filings online, and form SS-4270 states the filing fee is $50 per member with a $300 minimum. — Tennessee Secretary of State, retrieved 2026-09-29
Year two, and the reminders worth paying for
Pick by what year two costs, not by the first-year headline. The state's own second-year bills are fixed: the LLC annual report at $300 minimum, and the local license renewals on their anniversary.
A reminder service earns its price against exactly those two dates. The Secretary of State's calendar and the county clerk's counter do not chase you, and a lapsed annual report or a lapsed license is discovered at the worst moment, in front of a customer or a bank.
Before choosing, write down the two dates, then compare what each option costs in year two on what Tennessee business licenses cost. The order of errands for the whole stack is the Tennessee business license checklist.
$300 minimumThe Secretary of State's FAQ states the LLC annual report fee is $300 minimum up to $3,000, rising $50 per member over six members, while corporations file at $20. — Tennessee Secretary of State, retrieved 2026-09-29
Questions
Can a formation service get my county business license?
No. The county license is obtained from the county and/or municipal clerk after the business tax registration, and the trade licenses and health permits sit with their own boards and departments. A formation service prepares and files the entity paperwork.
Why does the state fee dominate the first-year cost?
Tennessee's Articles of Organization fee is $50 per member with a $300 minimum. At $300, the state fee exceeds most services' published base plans, so the "plus state fees" line is where the budget actually goes.
Which service publishes the lowest first-year total with a registered agent included?
Bizee publishes a $0 Basic plan plus the state fee with one free year of registered agent service included, which is the lowest first-year published total here with an agent attached.
What does a formation service file in Tennessee?
The Articles of Organization, form SS-4270, creating the LLC with the Secretary of State. The filing fee is $50 per member with a $300 minimum, paid to the state whoever prepares the form.
Does any of this cover the annual report?
The annual report at $300 minimum for an LLC stays your obligation whoever filed the formation. Some services sell compliance tracking as an add-on, which is a reminder service, not the filing itself.